Data Post: Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds

Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds. By Charles Mackay. Introduction by Norman Stone. Wordsworth, 1995. 001.9.

This classic catalogue of some of the more outré enthusiasms – speculative, social, religious and just plain daft – serves as a salutary reminder that the follies of mankind are not unique to the modern world. (back cover)

My history with this book: Little to none. Somebody (I forget who) recommended it to me at some time (I forget when) for some reason (I etc.). I checked it out of the library when I was at university out west, but I never did read any part of it.

My history with this copy: Bought it used online a few years ago.

Note: Although I started City of God first, this is the actual “first” book in my library – that is to say, it has the lowest Melvil number and is the first one on the shelf.

Leave a Reply

